Deep Dive: Hirokazu ‘Hip’ Tanaka | BGMania Podcast #74

Welcome to BGMania: A Video Game Music Podcast found on Level Down Games every Wednesday. On today’s episode, we’ll be taking a Deep Dive into another composer with a spotlight on a man that literally changed the chiptune industry, Hirokazu ‘Hip’ Tanaka, now modernly known as Chip Tanaka. We have an excellent assortment of tracks from his illustrious catalog of music. Enjoy the show.

Please send all track requests for future episodes of Radio Hour and possibly more to

The tracklist for today’s episode is as follows:

  1. Bonus Round (Balloon Fight) [1984]
  2. Game A BGM (Gyromite) [1985]
  3. Brinstar Theme (Metroid) [1986]
  4. Kraid’s Hideout (Metroid) [1986]
  5. Underworld Theme (Kid Icarus) [1986]
  6. Mission BGM Type A (Famicom Wars) [1988]
  7. Overworld Theme (Super Mario Land) [1989]
  8. B-Type (Tetris) [1989]
  9. Mother Earth (Mother/Earthbound Beginnings) [1989]
  10. Fever (Dr. Mario) [1990]
  11. Title Theme (Fire Emblem) [1990]
  12. Music Maker Medley (Mario Paint) [1992]
  13. Snowman (Earthbound) [1994]
  14. Squeak Squad Theme (Super Smash Bros. Brawl) [2008]
  15. Donkey Kong (Super Smash Bros. Brawl) [2008]
  16. Seaskape (Super Smash Bros. Ultimate) [2018]

Please consider supporting Level Down Games and all of our content by using the following affiliate links. Thanks so much!

◘ Amazon:
◘ TechniSport Gaming Chairs:
◘ Audible:
◘ Green Man Gaming:
◘ Fanatical: